Making The Board

When I came up with the idea to 3D print a whole Catan board I knew I wanted to make the pieces interlock a little better then the basic set because I always have the problem of those falling apart when someone hits the table or whatever.  I also wanted the way it attached to be uniform on all sides so that there isn’t a specific way everything can fit together.  I decided on a wave like style and had that on all six side and used that as the template for all the land pieces.

Catan Pics 065b Catan Pics 039b

I was originally going to base the pieces off of original Catan pieces but once I finished the 3D settlements, cities, and roads I figured I should make the pieces based off of the Warcraft 3 universe.  I was able to find good examples from the game for the main five resources which was great.  The brick resource has always seemed like a weird one to represent but the Orcs campaign travels through a very muddy clay filled area so that worked out great.  The desert isn’t really shown in that game so I decided to make the deserts based off of Diablo 3 which has giant pits and bones everywhere.  This worked out great since I made Diablo the robber and the robber starts out the game spawned in the desert.

Catan Pics 085b Catan Pics 150

Making the board video games themed ended up being very helpful when I was designing it because if I was trying to make it super realistic I would have felt bad about reusing assets but that just added to the realism of the video game universe.

Catan Pics 115b

For the coastal territories I had them function much like the ones from the normal board where the pieces can be used to make the board sized for 3-4 or 5-6 people.  The ports were an interesting problem because I didn’t want to have signs that said 3 for 1 or anything like that so I had to figure out how to show that visually.  Fortunately in Warcraft 3 there are item shops and ports which I used the models of to mark the areas.  I used the item shops to mark the 2 for 1 trade ins and the harbors to mark the 3 for 1 trade ins.  At all the harbors I have groups of three of each resource to signify that it is a 3 for 1 trade and at the item shops I have groups of 2 of that item shops specific trade.  It still needs a little bit of explaining whenever I start a game and sadly the item shops are modeled so that the huts look like they are made out of straw which everyone confuses with a wheat trade.  But overall I am very happy with it.

Catan Pics 134 Catan Pics 072

5 thoughts on “Making The Board

  1. Robbie,

    Hello! Good evening! First off, you did an amazing job, absolutely love the board. Would you be willing to make an sell another? I’d be very interested.

    Understandable if not, but I’d also be willing to purchase the designs (I too have a 3D printer).

    Let me know! Either way, it’s a beautiful board.

    Regards,

    Tim

    Like

    1. I’m glad you like the board so much. I haven’t seriously thought about reprinting the board to sell. If I were to do that I would probably charge a couple hundred dollars for it. So, if you have your own printer I think you are best off printing your own. No need to pay me for the designs I have posted them all for free on Thingiverse. http://www.thingiverse.com/RecklessRobbie/designs If you do end up making your own please post pictures of it. I would love to it. Thanks!

      Like

      1. Hey! Thanks for the quick response. Didn’t realize you posted the designs. I do have access to a printer!!

        Thanks Rob, and enjoy your Sunday!

        Regards,

        Tim

        Like

Leave a comment